Fighting for the Truth

On Wednesday I got my review from my boss. He’s new to the company only having been with us for about six months. At any rate, I was upset and disappointed by one of the ratings I received (It was a partially successful). I chalk it up to the fact that he doesn’t know the full scope of what I’ve done and therefore couldn’t accurately assess my performance. 
I prayed about it and asked God for wisdom in this situation. I felt the Lord saying: Trust in me, have faith in me and believe in me. Trust in yourself, have faith in yourself and believe in yourself. 2016 was a rough one but you can do better, have started to do better and will continue to do better. It’s a humbling experience to be knocked down a peg or two but it’s for the best. Only when you are unable, am I able. Only when you need me can I come in and help. 

Even with the Lord’s encouraging words I couldn’t let the issue go. I’ve never objected to a score on my review before but this time I couldn’t remain silent. I’d had a lurking headache since I’d gotten the review. I wasn’t myself and I was always thinking about the reasons why the rating wasn’t right. This morning at about 2:15 I started drafting a note documenting everything. I kept writing and writing until I felt the release in my belly. Once that was complete I reread it, made a few edits and then sent it to my boss and his boss (she used to be my boss). I don’t know what the outcome will be but I couldn’t go down without a fight. I couldn’t keep it bottled up and just “do better”. I’d done good work and I wanted to make sure people saw that. 

I share all this with you because you need to have a voice. Not a quiet and meek voice but a voice that demands attention. A voice that says this isn’t fair and something needs to be done about it. If you haven’t already started, find small ways to fight for the truth. 

#getitrightladies #GIRL 

Thanks for listening. 😀❤️

3/21/17 Update: After my email and a meeting with my boss and another associate, my review was updated to better reflect my work. All is well that ends well. 

Leave a Reply

